Adventures with a broken foot video

I’m going to try to incorporate a link to a video I made.  This blog doesn’t seem to let me upload it directly.

On August 18th I broke my foot.  It was nothing spectacular or really noteworthy that I was doing.  I was on a camping and kayaking trip with a group of friends and in the morning we got up and made breakfast.  We were all goofing off at camp when I noticed a ball stuck in the branches of a pine tree.  Of course we decided to try to get the ball down by throwing rocks at it.  I was running forward with a rock in my hand and tripped on another rock and twisted my ankle and went down.  When I landed my foot landed sideways on a rock and it snapped my 5th metatarsal bone inside my foot.  I heard it snap and knew it was broken right away.  I didn’t go to the doctor until the next day, because I didn’t want to have to go to the emergency room and pay higher fees on a Sunday.  Turns out I had a Jone’s fracture, which unfortunately takes 8-12 weeks to heal.  

I had previously planned to visit with some friends in San Diego.  I was tempted to cancel.  My friend Amy told me to come anyway.  What was I going to do?  Sit around my house?  She told me I should sit around her house.  I agreed.   I got to hang out in San Diego.  Amy’s neighbor let me borrow his wheelchair, I was carried into a Charger’s game, we explored the city.  I got to hang out with friends and my boyfriend as my bone continued to heal.  I ended up having two casts and a walking boot before I got better.  I bought a wheelchair off Craigslist after I returned from San Diego.

It was nice to have great friends to help me with my foot.  Everyone was very supportive.  It wasn’t always fun and it definitely wasn’t easy.  I wasn’t able to walk even one step for 8 weeks after I broke my foot, and when I did it was in a walking boot.

I have never broken a bone before.  It was an interesting experience.  It was painful and overall NOT fun!!  I have never taken so much ibuprofen in my life!  I highly recommend NOT breaking a bone.  I was wearing sandals when running around in a rocky area.  That was a bad move.  I will be more careful in the future.  As of today my bone is still healing.  I can walk, but I still have a severe limp.  My poor unused leg shriveled down and became grossly skinny, but it’s on the road to recovery.  The doc says I’ll be “normal” by the first of the year.  

http://www.youtube.com/edit?action_reinstate=1

I hope you can see that video.  I apologize because it is long, but I had a broken foot for a long time!  😉

 

Try the above link, maybe that’ll work

Leave a Reply

